Monday, April 25, 2011

Student Athletes to be Honored at Awards Banquet

BOULDER (4/22/11) - The University of Colorado collegiate sport clubs will honor their teams, student athletes and coaches at their annual banquet on Wednesday Apr. 27 from 6-8 p.m. in room 235 at the University Memorial Center on campus.

"It is a night for us to honor and recognize the coaches and officers of our teams for their hard work, dedication and time commitment," said collegiate sport clubs director Patty McConnell. "It is the behind the scenes stuff; the officers, the planning the budget and everything else that helps our teams be successful. We want our teams to be successful on and off the field of play."

The awards that will be given out include Club of the Year, Coach of the Year, Male and Female Athlete of the Year and Male and Female Sportsperson of the Year.

At last year's event, the women's volleyball team earned the Club of the Year award while women's rugby head coach Jim Stebbins was honored as the Coach of the Year.

The Athlete of the Year Awards is given to the student athletes that competed the best in their individual sport. Adam Coy of triathlon and Lauren Daly of women's volleyball picked up the male and female honors last year.

The Sportsperson of the Year award is given to the male and female athletes who showed leadership, commitment and dedication to their team. Ashley Abrams of women's hockey and Tyler DeWitt of men's crew earned the honor in 2010.