Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Colorado Cycling Rides for National Title

BOULDER, Colo. (05/2/12) — The No.1 University of Colorado Division 1 cycling team continues their journey to the 2012 Collegiate Road National Championships in Ogden, Utah from May 4th to May 6th where they will be competing against some of the best riders in the nation.

Josh Yeaton, Mac Cassin, Bill Golembieski, Camilo Zambrano, Jeff Perrin, Will Buick, Abby Mickey, Heather Fischer, Christa Ghent, Claire Bensard, Nicolle Bruderer and Megan Cole are all riding the Buffs, while Jeff Chmielewski is standing in as an alternate.

Fischer is currently ranked No.1 in the women’s division, followed by Mickey holding position No.2 for Colorado. Yeaton takes the No.1 spot in the men’s division, coming into the competition with a 39 point advantage on his closest competitor.

Last year, Colorado rode in the Mountain Bike National Championships that took place over Halloween weekend. The team came in second, eight points behind the five time national champions, Fort Lewis.

This year Fort Lewis is ranked No. 3 going into the championships, 1348 national points behind the Buffs. Fort Lewis’s riders are trailing behind Colorado with Sturm ranked No. 3 in the women’s division and Easter right on Yeaton’s tail, in second place for the men.

The races will begin on Friday at 9 a.m. when the men and women will both calculate team time trials. On Saturday, the criterium race will take place at 2:15 p.m. for the women competitors and 5 p.m. for the men. To conclude the weekend, the women will participate in the road race at 8 a.m., followed by the men at 12:30 p.m.

On Sunday afternoon individual and team awards will be handed out with one lucky team going home crowned the 2012 Road National Champions.

For more information on the race visit: