Tuesday, May 8, 2012

Colorado Cycling Comes in Second at Nationals

OGDEN, Utah (05/8/2012) —The University of Colorado Division I cycling team came in second place at the 2012 Collegiate Road National Championships this past weekend. 

The Buffs trailed only 30 points behind Marian University who received the national championship title. Marian excelled as a team earning 500 points total and their third national win.

Josh Yeaton, Mac Cassin, Bill Golembieski, Camilo Zambrano, Jeff Perrin, Will Buick, Abby Mickey, Heather Fischer, Christa Ghent, Claire Bensard, Nicolle Bruderer and Megan Cole all rode for Colorado, with Jeff Chmielewski standing in as an alternate.

Yeaton cleaned up for the men’s individual races, coming in first place overall with a 106 point lead on his closest competitor. He racked up his points from winning both the criterium and the road race.

Fischer came in second place for the women overall, 29 points behind first place rider from Marian, Antonneau. Fischer won the road race, but came in fourth in the criterium.

“Marian is a slightly stronger team and brings great competition,” said president of CU Cycling Danny Hiller. “I could not be more proud of what our team accomplished though. Our goal next season is to move up one spot on the podium.

For an in-depth look at individual and team results visit: http://www.usacycling.org/2012/collegiate-road-nationals